Local Housing Allowance

Your category and how LHA is worked out

LHA is worked out according to:

  • the number and sex of the people who live with you
  • the area you live/want to live in
  • how much money and saving you have.

The number and sex of the people who live with you

LHA is based on the number of bedrooms a household needs.

Your claim for LHA will be assessed on the basis that one bedroom is required for:

  • every adult couple
  • a single person aged 16 or over
  • any two children of the same sex under the age of 16
  • any two children under age 10
  • any other child under the age of 16.


  1. A couple with a daughter aged seven and a son aged four will be entitled to a property with two bedrooms – one for the couple and one for the children.
  2. A single parent with a daughter aged six and a son aged 12 will be entitled to a property with three bedrooms – one for the parent, one for the daughter and one for the son.

You are entitled to one additional bedroom for a disabled family member, who has a carer who stays overnight but who doesn't normally live with you, providing you rent a property which has an extra bedroom for the carer.

Since 1 April 2017 housing benefit allows an additional bedroom for couples who cannot share a bedroom due to disability.

Below are the categories of property that the Valuation Office Agency provides annual valuations for depending upon where you live in the borough:

 Category      Type of property
 A Shared accommodation*
 B One bedroom self-contained
 C Two bedrooms
 D Three bedrooms
 E Four bedrooms

*LHA levels are capped at the four bedroom rate for all new claims made on or after 1 April 2011.