Blue badge scheme

Who qualifies for a blue badge

You will qualify for a blue badge if:

  • you receive the higher rate of the mobility component of the Disability Living Allowance
  • you receive a War Pensioners’ mobility supplement                                                              
  • you are registered blind
  • you receive a qualifying award under the Armed Forces and Reserve Forces (compensation) scheme 

You may qualify for a blue badge if:

  • you have a permanent and substantial disability, which means you are unable to walk or have considerable, and not intermittent difficulty in walking.  In this case, you will be asked a series of questions to help the local authority determine whether you are eligible for a badge. If successful, you will be awarded a discretionary badge; the process of assessment for a discretionary badge will be repeated in three years or when your badge is due for renewal

People with a behavioural or psychological disorder will not normally qualify unless their impairment causes very considerable difficulty in walking at all times.

Children under two years of age do not automatically qualify for a Blue Badge, but will be considered in exceptional circumstances.

For more information regarding eligibility for blue badges please go to the Department of Transport website.

Pages in Blue badge scheme

  1. Introduction
  2. You are here: Who qualifies for a blue badge
  3. Changes to the blue badge scheme
  4. How to apply