Mayor's office

Armorial Bearings

The armorial bearings of the London Borough of Ealing were granted by the college of Heralds on 1 September 1965 and is described as; 'Argent issuant from a Grassy Mount in base an Oak Tree proper fructed Or on a Chief Gules three Saxon Crowns Or'.

The shield contains emblems taken from the arms of the former boroughs of Ealing, Acton and Southall; the former County of Middlesex and the greater London Council,thus creating new armorial bearings but retaining the historical background of all three original boroughs.

The oak tree

The oak tree is common to the former arms of Ealing and Acton, in which it referred to the ancient forest west of London in which so many of the modern settlements originated, and which is recalled in the name of Acton (oak-town). The oak is also appropriate to the origins of Southall and Norwood ("the southern holt and the northern wood"). It is shown with golden acorns, twenty in number to represent the original twenty wards of the London Borough, against a white background, as in the former Ealing arms, and firmly rooted in a grassy base as in those of Acton.

The chief

The chief, or horizontal band across the tope of the shield, follows the pattern of the Acton arms which also had a chief above its oak tree. This is coloured red, the background of the former Middlesex arms and bears three Saxon crowns in gold, reminiscent of the three former Middlesex boroughs and of the county itself, which is similarly symbolised in the Greater London Council arms.