Term and holiday dates

Academic year 2020/21

Autumn term 2020

  • Start of term: Wednesday 2 September 2020
  • Half term: Monday 26 October to Friday 30 October 2020
  • End of term: Friday 18 December 2020
  • Christmas holiday: Monday 21 December 2020 to Friday 1 January 2021

Spring term 2021

  • Start of term: Monday 4 January 2021
  • Half term: Monday 15 February to Friday 19 February 2021
  • End of term: Wednesday 31 March 2021
  • Easter holiday: Thursday 1 April to Friday 16 April 2021

Summer term 2021

  • Start of term: Monday 19 April 2021
  • May day: Monday 3 May 2021
  • Half term: Monday 31 May to Friday 4 June 2021
  • End of term: Wednesday 28 July 2021

Bank holidays

  • 25 December 2020 (Christmas day holiday)
  • 26 December 2020 (Bank holiday)
  • 1 January 2021 (New Years day holiday)
  • 2 April 2021 (Good Friday)
  • 5 April 2021 (Easter Monday)
  • 3 May 2021 (May day)
  • 31 May 2021 (spring bank holiday)
  • 30 August 2021 (summer bank holiday)

Training days

The above schedule sets out 198 days in total, providing a framework for schools from which five days should be selected as training days for teachers, set by headteachers in consultation with their staff.

Occasional days

The schedule also allows for the three occasional days holiday for pupils and staff to be set in consultation with each school's governing body. In considering the dates of these three days, governing bodies should take account of the need to observe religious festivals other than Christmas and Easter. These should also be taken from within the 198 days specified in the schedule. Should the occasional days not be required for religious festivals it is recommended that they be used at the end of the summer term 2021.

Please note that the total number of working days for teachers is 195 and for pupils is 190.

Contact us

For more information contact pupil support

Tel: 020 8825 5566
Email: pupilsupport@ealing.gov.uk