The cabinet has ten members, including Councillor Peter Mason, the leader of the council, and Councillor Deirdre Costigan, deputy leader.  Each member has a specific area of responsibility (also known as a portfolio) and is accountable for the council's everyday decision-making process.

The role and responsibility of a cabinet member include:

  • initiating policy
  • making decisions and implementing council policies within their portfolio
  • acting as spokesperson for the council on services and functions within their portfolio
  • being a member of cabinet and sharing the collective responsibility for decisions taken by the cabinet
  • developing partnership working with other organisations in the borough.

Cabinet members and a brief overview of their portfolio areas:

  • Leader - Cllr Peter Mason - Leading the team delivering real change for Ealing, setting our political vision and engaging everyone to build an open, transparent and inclusive council.  
  • Deputy leader and climate action - Cllr Deirdre Costigan - Greening and keeping Ealing clean, achieving net zero carbon, and ensuring our parks, open spaces and nature are protected and enhanced.  
  • Decent living Incomes - Cllr Bassam Mahfouz - Bringing new and well-paid jobs back to Ealing and securing a strong economic recovery where good businesses can thrive. 
  • Inclusive economy - Cllr Steve Donnelly - Building wealth within the community by ensuring everything the council does increases social value and contributes to making ​Ealing a fairer place to live and work.  
  • Genuinely affordable homes - Cllr Lauren Wall - Delivering our radical programme of social rent council house building, and ensuring our tenants are empowered and have ownership of their communities. 
  • Good growth - Cllr Shital Manro - Making sure the growth that takes place in Ealing enhances its character, conserves its future and makes great places people want to live.   
  • Thriving communities - Cllr Jasbir Anand - Bringing people together to build strong neighbourhoods, empowering volunteers, encouraging community activism, engaging civic and faith leaders, and delivering well-loved community facilities and services. ​ 
  • A fairer start - Cllr Kamaljit Kaur Nagpal - Ensuring all our children and young people of all backgrounds get the best start in life, from their earliest years through to a great education.  
  • Tackling inequality - Cllr Aysha Raza - Relentlessly focusing on reducing poverty and inequality for those that most need support and promoting wellbeing and safety for all. 
  • Healthy lives - Cllr Josh Blacker - Combating COVID-19, protecting and enhancing the physical and mental health of all, supporting our older residents to enable them to remain independent and resilient.