20mph speed limits to be trialled across Ealing

Roads enclosed by the A406, A40, Greenford Road, Windmill Lane and the Southern borough boundary (shaded on the map) will have the reduced speed limit adopted from 31 March 2019.

It is the second speed limit to be rolled out across the borough after a 20mph area was made permanent in Acton in 2018 after a successful one-year trial.

Studies indicate that for every 1mph drop in average vehicle speed there is a 6% drop in road casualties and the new speed limits aim to make the borough’s streets not only safer, but more pleasant for everyone using them.

There are already a number of initiatives in the borough making local roads more attractive for walking, cycling and using public transport.

This includes the enhancements to Sudbury Hill High Street, which were completed last year, and the Live West Ealing programme, which is reducing levels of traffic and encouraging more walking, cycling and public transport use in areas along Uxbridge Road.

Councillor Julian Bell, leader of Ealing Council said: “We want our roads to be amongst the safest in London and when this trial is implemented we will have 20mph zones or limits on more than two thirds of the roads in Ealing.

“Our residents overwhelmingly agree that road safety should be further improved and the introduction of this additional speed limit will help us do just that.

“It has been shown that when traffic speed can be reduced people feel safer and more positive about their local streets and are more likely to make journeys by walking and cycling – which is of course positive for the environment as well.”

“Helping people make that shift away from high-polluting vehicles to greener options wherever possible is central to our transport strategy, which we began to implement last year.

“The strategy also sets out our commitment to improving air quality by increasing provision for electric vehicles on a scale not seen in the borough before.

“The council will be introducing 25 new electric vehicle charge points this spring, adding to the 40 already available through private companies. We are aiming for a network where no-one is more than 10 minutes’ walk from a charger.”

Some roads in the following wards will be subject to the 20mph speed limit trial from 31 March 2019:

  • Cleveland
  • Ealing Broadway
  • Ealing Common
  • Elthorne
  • Greenford Broadway
  • Greenford Green
  • Hanger Hill
  • Hobbayne
  • Northfield
  • Norwood Green
  • Perivale
  • Walpole